A Healthy Chicken Dish

I rarely eat meat for various reasons. No, I’m not a vegetarian or vegan but I just prefer not to eat red meat. While dealing with several stomach issues, I have found that it is easier to stay away from red meats and stick with chicken as one of my sources of protein.

I asked on twitter today what people wanted to hear about on my blog. One person tweeted and asked for a healthy chicken recipe. I know cooking after a long day at work or with a busy schedule can be challenging which is why many people decide against it. A step in the right direction when you are trying to eat healthy is to cook! Now, I’m not one to talk because I haven’t developed a cooking ability yet, but that does not mean that I chose to eat poorly.

The excuse people have for eating bad things tend to drive me crazy, but I want to meet you halfway and help! If I can start small and make suggestions through my blog and twitter than that is a step in the right direction.

Here is a great recipe I found that does not look too difficult. Feel free to make suggestions or comments!

Honey Soy Glazed Chicken Recipe

Recipe adapted from Seattle Kitchen, A Food Lover’s Cookbook and Guide by Tom Douglas. The chicken can be replaced with fish or even vegetables, such as eggplant depending on your preferences.

Make Ahead: The marinade/glaze can be made up to one week ahead of time and kept, tightly covered, in the refrigerator.

Sub your favorite Gluten-Free tamari sauce for the soy sauce if needed.

Ingredients:

FOR THE GLAZE:
1/4 cup Honey
1/4 cup vegetable or peanut oil
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes THE CHICKEN:
12 Chicken Drumsticks
lemon wedges for serving

Directions:

1) To make the marinade/glaze, whisk together the honey, oil, lemon juice, soy sauce, garlic and red pepper flakes.
2) In a baking dish, resealable bag or container, marinate the chicken in the glaze for 30 minutes.
3) Grill or broil the chicken, medium heat, on both sides until the skin is crispy and juices run clear or the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees Fahrenheit, about 25-30 minutes. Be careful not to burn the chicken, the honey will char easily. Moving the chicken to a cooler part of the grill, if grilling, or moving the chicken further from the broiler, may be necessary.
4) Serve chicken with a squeeze of lemon.

http://www.steamykitchen.com/18381-honey-soy-glazed-chicken-recipe.html

4 thoughts on “A Healthy Chicken Dish

Leave a Reply

