The first race

20130112-161159.jpg

I’ve never been the running type. NEVER. Running was something in my mind that was negative, not a positive workout tactic that could relieve stress. Let’s face it we all stress once in awhile.

I thought about people I know that have run races or even marathons and said to myself, why not try it?

After doing a little research and talking to a few close friends, I figured I would start small and run a few 5k races throughout the summer.

Once I completed those races I decided it was time to step things up, so I signed up for a half marathon. Now you may be thinking she went from running in 3.2 mile races to a 13.1 mile race, what a nut! You’re not alone on that thought.

I trained rain or shine through the summer and fall until my race in October. Determination is a characteristic that was instilled in me at a very early age, so this helped throughout the training. There are many factors that go into training such as nutrition, hydration, a good sleep pattern, proper clothing, a good pair of sneakers, the right socks and so many more things!

Running can be beneficial for many people of all ages, especially those of you that may have stomach issues. I still have been struggling for a few years with issues; however when I run I feel great!

Completing my first half marathon inspired me to continue running and proved to me how great running can be for your entire body. Not only do you feel amazing after a run, whether it is 2 miles or 11 miles, but it is something you can do any time of the day. You don’t need a gym membership or an instructor to run, so grab your sneakers and hit the pavement!

Leave a Reply

