Side Dish

It has been a few weeks since my lost post and I have been feeling as though I need to get a bit more creative with my cooking. Now that is a bold statement to make seeing as though I rarely cook as it is, never mind becoming more creative.

Cooking has always been something that fascinates me, but seems extremely overwhelming. I did not grow up around parent(s) that cooked and I have never been introduced to great family recipes. I’m not sure if anyone in my family would consider themselves a “good cook”. Regardless, I need to venture out and begin my own cooking journey.

I came across a fabulous recipe for my ultimate favorite POTATOES. As someone who is Irish and spends every holiday enjoying potatoes, I figured it was time to search for a recipe that incorporates the best starch around!

Twice Baked by Martha Stewart
2 pounds red new potatoes (about 14), halved
1 tablespoon olive oil
coarse salt and ground pepper
3/4 cup reduced-fat sour cream
1/4 cup snipped fresh chives, plus more for garnish
Directions
1.Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Cut a thin slice off the bottom of each potato half so they rest flat. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss with oil; season with salt and pepper, and arrange bottom side down. Bake until tender, 30 to 35 minutes. Let cool on sheet.
2.When cool enough, scoop out about a teaspoon from the center of each potato into a medium bowl. Add sour cream and chives, and mash; season with salt and pepper. Stuff potatoes with filling. (To store, refrigerate stuffed potatoes on a rimmed baking sheet, up to 1 day.)
3.Bake potatoes at 450 degrees until lightly browned, about 15 minutes. Garnish with chives.

Leave a Reply

