“Start Strong, Finish Stronger”

As many of you know I’ve participated in far too many races to count. This past Monday, Columbus Day, I ran the Tufts 10K for women for the third year in a row. The run is very inspirational and extremely well organized, with awesome post-race treats and fabulous vendors. I ran this race last year with two girlfriends and it was much more exciting having them participate with me, but I enjoy heading down to Boston Common every year for this event.

After checking out some of the vendors and purchasing a few awesome headbands, I made my way toward the start line. Prior to every run, I stretch a bit and listen to music before the gun goes off. As I stood around more than 7,500 women on Beacon Street I realized how thankful I am to have the opportunity to run through the streets of Boston with such pride.

The race begins down Beacon Street, then a right turn on Massachusetts Avenue, right turn on Memorial Drive, left turn back towards the BU Boat Club, loop back toward the Massachusetts Avenue Bridge, left onto Commonwealth Avenue and around the Public Garden to cross the finish line. Every turn we took and every mile we ran was such an amazing experience. You could see participants all along the course in large groups supporting one another and pushing to the finish line.

For anyone who hasn’t run this race before and are ready for a fantastic challenge – SEE YOU IN 2015!

photo

Leave a Reply

